Week-end guest(s) stress

Standard

Week-end Guests:

When we were in our early 20’s child free and renting a city center bijou flat (with a sofa bed) I use to love having weekend guests to stay – it was *ACE* – chill axed – bohemian – loll’in in PJ’s nursing a hangover – if we were up in time we might go to the pub for Sunday lunch kind of relaxed, everyone got on – stayed until the following weekend – got in the way – communally made a mess – And I didn’t care………………………………………

Now roll on 10 years and two children – a husband – a mountainous pile of UN-ironed ironing inhabiting the landing/spare-room/stairs – a bathroom that potentially should be/could be condemned (NEEDS a clean!) – the spare bed linen for spare beds in said Ironing pile……..and basically “NO-TIME-TO-MAKE-F**KING-BEDS!” I’m not so *chill-axed*!!!! Or bohemian, And actually having a weekend Guest(s) to stay (regardless of how lovely or well you know them) generally, until the wine flows later (with your guest) is a big massive headache.

“Agreed”???

Luckily for me then that my BFF (‘best friend forever’) and other girlfriends all live no further than doors away from me thus the need for ‘sleep-overs’ is totally unnecessary – we can simply walk/run home fueled by coffee, Prosecco or gin! (depending on the time of day).;0)

My family and even my in-laws also live houses away from my own so echo the above – ‘No need for sleepovers’

And my old university friends (who are scattered across the UK)  as a rule de-bunk ‘The staying over the weekend stuff’ we usually meet up childless/husband-less instead in a central city – where we drink wine – gasbag – giggle – drink more wine – reminisce the year 1997 – drink more wine – forget to eat and fall back on to the 5.50pm @Kingcross home..(*hic*)

Luckily then we don’t often have weekend guests and my spare room is obsolete (apart from containing the UN-Ironed ironing (THANK GOD!”)

Thinking back the last week-end guest we had was about four years ago and was a *headache* for more reasons than bed making and bathroom cleansing.

The said guest was an old friend who I hadn’t  physically seen for about 6 years and only really communicated with occasionally on Facebook. The guest arrived by train on a Friday evening with *lots* of baggage and dietary demands – announcing that despite 6 years ago being a normal eater – had now begun a restrictive diet of eating nothing, it seemed,  but rice and apples, promptly  – refused to eat the dinner my husband (A Chef) had cooked (local Venison) and couldn’t drink anything but filtered/non-fluoride water at room temperature. After dinner that night they departed to our family bathroom for a two hour soak in the bath, using up all of the hot water ( meaning I couldn’t bath the kids) Then spent the rest of the weekend lecturing us about about drinking alcohol, complaining about the children waking up too early made a mess, got – in -the – way – stayed until the Tuesday of the following week – I cared! !!!!!!

(*Headache*)

Personally I like the 1949 approach (below) – And next time (if there is one) this how I’m rolling ;0)

(Taken from 1000 Household hints – Elizabeth Craig 1949 edition)  

Week-end Guests.-

When inviting week-end guests always be careful to intimate when you expect them to arrive and depart. If they are coming by train you can easily manage this by saying you will meet a certain train, and suggesting that they can go to town with your husband on Monday morning, or stay to lunch with you , whichever they prefer. If they are coming by car you could say, “we usually have lunch (or tea) on _day at_. If you can’t get here by then will you let me know, and we’ll alter the time. I hope you will be able to stay on to lunch on Monday,” or something of this sort. 

(OR in other words don’t stay until Tuesday or #overstayyourwelcome! Ha)

Happy weekends guys xxxxxxxxxxx b

3 thoughts on “Week-end guest(s) stress

  1. I’ve never really been one to have weekend guests in the way you describe.
    When I was single and living alone I’d have parties at the weekend with people from work; they’d sleep over but that was more because were would all end up drunk and sleep wherever we passed out! They’d stumble out the next day after waking up at lunch time and make their way to McDonalds for much needed food to soak up the alcohol!
    I did look back with fondness at this time in my life but seeing it written down like this makes me feel a bit ashamed!!

  2. franglaisemummy

    We always have people to stay – when we lived in France it was my UK friends and family, now we’re in the UK it’s our French friends and family. But I hate it when people don’t know the etiquette, and all of the above would have driven me loopy! No wonder you were drinking lots of alcohol – you totally needed it by the sounds of it!

Leave a Reply

